Another Scary Experience

What I do when hubby is about to take my picture and I'm not in the mood... I put my lap-poodle in front of my face.

What I do when hubby is about to take my picture and I’m not in the mood… I put my lap-poodle in front of my face.

It’s after two o’clock in the morning and I don’t feel the least bit sleepy. How can I fall asleep when every time I close my eyes I see two big aggressive dogs running straight toward my sweet little poodle and me?

It happened as I was walking our rescue poodle, Scrappy, about an hour before sundown. Scrap and I were heading home from the park, approximately half a mile away from our house. After picking our way past some road construction, we turned up an alley that runs behind a church. Cattle are kept in a pen behind the church and Scrappy likes to visit them.

We had no sooner turned up the gravel pathway when I saw two very tall black dogs come charging around the corner at the opposite end of the alley, approximately 300 feet away. As soon as they saw my poodle and me, the two strays ran toward us at breakneck speed. They looked like Dobermans, possibly mixed with Pit Bull. Whatever breed they are, their behavior was extremely aggressive.

I scooped my little pooch up in my arms and screamed at the big dogs to “GO HOME!” But they kept running flat out toward us as I turned and ran behind a thick stand of evergreen trees. Still holding my little dog in my arms, I somehow managed to pull my phone out of my back pocket and call my husband. I quickly explained what was happening and where we were. He said he would be right there.

Meanwhile, I was kicking some large rocks and fallen branches into a small pile. They would be my ammunition if the two dogs came running through the trees and tried to attack.

Faster than I had thought possible, my husband’s SUV came skidding around the corner. We were safe!

As my husband and I drove around the area, he saw the two dogs skulking behind an abandoned house. When they saw our vehicle, they ran in the opposite direction.

Just within the past three and a half months we’ve had a tornado-warned hail storm ruin our roof and total our car. We’ve had a blizzard with close to hurricane force winds that blew for the better part of two days and two nights, leaving us without electricity for 21 hours and further damaging our property. Since it’s warmed up and the snow has melted away, I’ve seen a black bear foraging less than half a block from our house. And now, after this terrifying encounter with two large aggressive dogs, I feel like I must have a red target painted on my back!

But… we’re OK. We have a new metal roof on our house. We have a new (to us) SUV to replace the totaled car. And… we’re OK.

Thank You, Lord Jesus, for Your loving protection and provision.

Amen.

— —

About Lynda Lee

Lynda Lee is my pen name. I am a former nurse, a Mensa member, and a writer, diagnosed with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder caused by extreme trauma and narcissistic abuse. Formerly agnostic, I am now a Christian. My husband, a USMC Vietnam War Veteran and a Chaplain, has PTSD caused by combat. We've come a long way on our healing journey and we still have a ways to go. We put the FUN in dysfunctional. :-)
This entry was posted in Fear, Gratitude, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, PTSD, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Another Scary Experience

  1. Preacher Biker says:

    I love my wonderful brave wife with all my heart

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thumbup says:

    OH! How romantic! Your husband! OH!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Linda Lee says:

      We are so lucky to have each other!! My husband and I met a little over twelve years ago, when we were in our fifties. We had both given up on ever having a good, lasting relationship, because we both have had severe PTSD since the 1960s. Post Traumatic Stress Disorder is hard on relationships. But the good thing is that we are the same kind of “CrAzY,” so we understand each other and get along great 99% of the time! YAY!

      It’s all about putting FUN in dysFUNction, lol. That, and having the empathy and compassion to never minimize or invalidate what the other person is feeling.

      Life is hard at times, for everyone. But when you have someone kind who loves you no matter what, life is GOOD.

      Like

  3. Love Birds, of course! As to dangers and threats, we all have them. Some more and some less. Try being so weak and having the responsibility of caring for an invalid. Can’t sleep good, and yet spent two hours counseling a needy person. Exhausting, to say the least. Heart pumping 20% of what it should be doing. Invalid with heart and diabetes and scoliosis (sp?)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Linda Lee says:

      You are right, Dr. Willingham, life is dangerous for everyone. None of us are going to get out of here alive. In the meantime, my best friend husband and I have found that gentle love and empathetic kindness goes a long way in getting us through the rough patches.

      That, and lots of laughter. We are both silly gooses. 😡 😁

      It sounds like you have more than your share of struggles. My heart goes out to you. I hope writing about it helps. After I wrote this post last night, I was immediately able to relax and go to sleep! I feel so much better, that I am going to take our poodle for another walk in a few minutes — while carrying my hubby’s metal cane this time!

      Walking around town with the dog is one of the best things I have ever found to help me cope with my Complex PTSD. I was very upset last night when I thought I wasn’t going to be able to safely do that anymore. But after writing about it and then getting some restful sleep, I am determined not to let those big bully dogs stop me.

      I haven’t let abusive human bullies stop me yet, so why give that power to a couple of stray dogs?

      Thanks for stopping by. God bless.

      Like

  4. Just Plain Ol' Vic says:

    *whew* glad you (and your poodle) are safe!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Linda Lee says:

      Thank you, Vic! I just returned from a fast walk around the block with little Scrappy. This time I carried my hubby’s metal cane over my arm. I saw no signs of any big bad dogs, but I did see fresh bear scat over by the dumpster.

      It’s a CrAzY world out there!

      Like

  5. Geez! So glad you and your little dog are safe. Not that it matters but do you think those dogs are strays? Such a scary experience. I can relate in some ways, having been a dog walker I’ve been in a few scary situations. I can totally understand why you can’t sleep. The possibilities of what COULD have happened are no doubt overwhelming.

    Your husband is a hero and love how fast he got there, I’m welling up with tears right now as I think about that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Linda Lee says:

      My BFH (best friend hubby) is my hero. I’m welling up about it now, too.

      When the economy tanked so bad a few years ago, stray dogs of every size and shape were being dumped in our little town, apparently by people who could not take care of them any longer. At least that was our guess. It was heartbreaking to see. We wished we could take them all in, but of course we couldn’t. It kept the dog catcher and the pound very busy.

      That’s how we got our little Scrappy a couple of years ago. We found him on the brink of starvation at the side of the road, wearing no collar and having no ID chip, injured, skin and bones, and covered with more than thirty ticks. He’s doing great today though. Spoiled rotten.

      Since the December 26-27 Goliath blizzard, we’ve noticed an increase in dogs running loose around town. Many fences were blown down, including ours, which is why I now have to walk the dog several times a day. No more just opening the back door and letting him out, until we can afford to put up a new fence. Our ruined roof had to be the priority.

      But yeah, I’m not sure if those big aggressive dogs were really strays, they may have just gotten out of a yard with a weakened fence. I’m so thankful they didn’t follow us into the trees! I am also glad they were nowhere in sight when I walked Scrappy this morning, with my hubby’s metal cane over my arm!

      Like

      • I’m so glad that you and Scrappy are okay, but it’s scary to think about what might happen if you’re ever caught in that situation again. Maybe you should carry pepper spray, just in case.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Linda Lee says:

          I actually have a can of bear repellent saved in my Amazon shopping cart, since we also have black bears here in town, and bear repellent is supposed to work great on repelling aggressive dogs. But I’m hesitant to order anything like that, because we get a lot of wind here on the high plains. Even on “calm” days, we almost always have a good breeze. It would be just my luck to try to spray a dog or a bear and have it blow back in my face, or on my sweet little poodle.

          So for now, I am carrying my husband’s metal cane when I walk the dog. By the way, a few hours after I posted this, I took Scrappy for a walk (while carrying the cane), and as we approached Main Street, a stray Pit Bull came around the corner heading right for us. But this dog was definitely not one of the two that chased us. Although powerfully built, the Pit was much lower to the ground. Also, his (or her) personality was the opposite of aggressive. As soon as the Pit Bull saw me, before I had a chance to do anything, it whirled around and trotted off in the opposite direction.

          I have known some Pit Bulls that were wonderful dogs. It really isn’t the breed that is the problem, it’s how they are raised and cared for.

          Liked by 1 person

  6. Marie Abanga says:

    pray dear what’s a metal cane? other than that, great you got home safe and hmm, someday I hope to find such a partner too πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Linda Lee says:

      Hello Marie. A metal cane is a walking stick that is made out of metal. Most older, traditional canes, or walking sticks, are made of wood. If I need to fend off an attacking dog, he could bite into a wooden cane and pull it out of my hands. A dog cannot do that so easily with a walking stick made of metal.

      I try not to feel like an old lady when I carry the cane. I am not old, even if I do have a great grandson who will soon be three, a granddaughter in nursing school, and another granddaughter in the Masters Anthropology program at Harvard University. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  7. Patricia says:

    Awesome husband. When I got lost before having GPS, I would call my husband who was often at work answering emergency calls at the poison center. In my family, we have what is called “the Spencer Sensor” which means that we can’t find our way out of a cardboard box. Danny would look up where I was and give me step by step instructions, staying on the phone with me until I was comfortable that I knew where I was or had arrived at my destination. For a man with little to no patience, he was very patient with me and I never loved him more.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.