Do We Have To Go To Church? – the text

1a-SuperCell-LadyQuixote-2012

Wow!! This post I am reblogging, written by Pastor Dave Orrison on Grace for my Heart, is so encouraging!

My husband and I both have PTSD… which is a real, physical brain injury caused by overwhelming trauma. In other words, it isn’t just “in our heads.” It isn’t something we can think, or pray, or “forgive and forget” our way out of.

In fact, modern brain imaging technologies have found that the structure and function of the brain is profoundly changed by extreme trauma, in both humans and animals.

The good news is that brain imaging technologies have also discovered that the injured brain can heal… given enough time and, especially, given the right kind of healing help in a safe, nurturing environment. My husband has come a long way in his healing since his combat experience during the Vietnam war. I, too, have grown and healed enormously in the years since my multiple traumas.

However, we are not “all better.” We still struggle with ordinary life at times…. much of the time. And as a result, although we both love to go to church, we miss more Sundays than we make.

For this and other reasons having to do with our PTSD, we often feel like “second class Christians.” But we aren’t, are we? The Lord’s Grace is sufficient even for us!!

Comments are closed here, please visit the original blog. This is my all-time favorite blog, by the way, which is why I am now reading it straight through from the beginning, going all the way back to 2010. 🙂

Grace for my Heart

This is a rather long post, but it seemed important to offer it here. 

The most common text used to get believers to attend regular Sunday worship is Hebrews 10:24-25:

And let us consider one another in order to stir up love and good works,  not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as is the manner of some, but exhorting one another, and so much the more as you see the Day approaching.   Hebrews 10:24-25(NKJV)

 

Let’s take a look at this passage.  First, I want to be very careful to stay true to the text and to the intent of the passage.  I recognize that I have a new grid through which I see the Scriptures and I have to be careful that I am not reading what I consider a grace message in a place where the Lord means something different.  If He is telling us that we ought to…

View original post 1,147 more words

About Lynda Lee

Lynda Lee is my pen name. I am a former nurse, a Mensa member, and a writer, diagnosed with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder caused by extreme trauma and narcissistic abuse. Formerly agnostic, I am now a Christian. My husband, a USMC Vietnam War Veteran and a Chaplain, has PTSD caused by combat. We've come a long way on our healing journey and we still have a ways to go. We put the FUN in dysfunctional. :-)
This entry was posted in Christianity, God, Grace, PTSD. Bookmark the permalink.