9 WAYS TO SURVIVE THE HOLIDAYS.

width="355"

The following post by Lucky Otter, “9 Ways to Survive the Holidays,” is the best advice I have seen for getting through this time of year with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD).

Christmas is both my favorite season and my hardest time of year. It’s my favorite because my Christian faith is the most important thing to me, and this is when we celebrate our Lord’s birth.

But Christmas is also my hardest time, because December is when my mother tried to gas us all to death when I was twelve. I wrote about it in a piece entitled “Unthinkable,” posted one year ago today. Here is the web address for that post: https://healmycomplexptsd.wordpress.com/2014/12/12/unthinkable/

Whew. Half a century has passed since that terrible time and I still feel the pain like a sharp knife in my gut. Deep Breaths….

I hope you will take the time to read all of Lucky Otter’s nine suggestions. I’m going to re-read them right now. They are really good!

~Comments are disabled here, please visit the original blog.~

God Bless Everyone and Merry Christmas! ~Linda

Lucky Otters Haven

holiday-stress-2011

Many of us who were raised in narcissistic families or come from abusive backgrounds don’t have good associations with Christmas and the holidays in general. On top of this, Christmas has become overcommercialized and even people from normal, happy families get stressed. Everywhere you go, there are messages telling you to be cheerful and “jolly” and ads telling you to buy, buy, and buy some more. People who don’t have families (or have dysfunctional families) or don’t have a lot of money often feel marginalized, as if they’re defective because they can’t fully participate in all the hoopla or be as happy as the wealthy, perfect (and annoying) people they see in TV commercials. The days are also short and gloomy. No wonder depression is so common this time of year.

Even if you dread the holidays, it’s still possible to enjoy them. I used to stress myself into a…

View original post 874 more words

About Lynda Lee

Lynda Lee is my pen name. I am a former nurse, a Mensa member, and a writer, diagnosed with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder caused by extreme trauma and narcissistic abuse. Formerly agnostic, I am now a Christian. My husband, a USMC Vietnam War Veteran and a Chaplain, has PTSD caused by combat. We've come a long way on our healing journey and we still have a ways to go. We put the FUN in dysfunctional. :-)
This entry was posted in PTSD. Bookmark the permalink.