It’s Good To Be Alive!

3h1_Snow_600My husband and I live in a semi-arid region in the southwest United States. The average annual rainfall in our area is just nine and a half inches.

Our high altitude weather is extremely variable, with temperatures ranging from single digits in the winter, to triple digits in the summer. With frequent dust storms, wild fires, annual monsoon floods, and the occasional super cell bringing funnel clouds and hail the size of softballs, the weather in this part of the country is anything but boring.

We recently had a snowstorm that dropped a foot of snow overnight, which is unusual for where we live. Today, as the temperature climbed above freezing for the first time in nearly a week, I cleared the white stuff off the roof of our travel trailer to protect it from water damage, then shoveled the walkway in front of our house.

3h2_Snow_600

Meanwhile, my hubby sat on the porch and watched over me like a worried mother hen, taking pictures with his phone. I do most of the heavy work since my husband’s two heart attacks. After his latest heart tests, the cardiologist told my husband that his heart has healed so well, it’s as though he never had a heart attack. But even so, I don’t like taking chances with my best friend.

My best-friend-hubby took this selfie while I was shoveling snow.

My best-friend-hubby took this selfie while I was shoveling snow.

Shoveling snow is hard, exhausting work, especially for a sixty-something great-grandmother like me. But despite the strain and muscle pain, I actually found myself enjoying it. For two weeks in December (2014) I was so sick that I thought I might not live to see the New Year. Now, thanks to the miracle of antibiotics, I am healthy enough to shovel snow.

It’s good to be alive!

Me, cuddling with our Cattle Dog, Lady, and our rescued Poodle, Scrappy, after shoveling the snow. UPDATE: Our precious Lady died in my arms on March 10, 2015. She died peacefully, with no apparent pain or fear, probably of old age. We miss her so much and we are very grateful for the 8 years that she was part of our family.

Me, cuddling with our Cattle Dog, Lady, and our rescued Poodle, Scrappy, after shoveling the snow. UPDATE: Our precious Lady died in my arms on March 10, 2015. She died peacefully, with no apparent pain or fear, probably of old age. We miss her so much and we are very grateful for the 8 years that she was part of our family.

~ ~ ~

Wishing Everyone a Happy and Healthy 2015.

REMEMBER: Try not to let bad weather get you down — sooner or later, the weather will change.

XOXO

~ ~ ~

ABOUT COMMENTS: I have disabled comments to focus on writing my memoir. In the meantime, you may contact me on Twitter via @LadyQuixote.

~ ~ ~

About Lynda Lee

Lynda Lee is my pen name. I am a former nurse, a Mensa member, and a writer, diagnosed with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder caused by extreme trauma and narcissistic abuse. Formerly agnostic, I am now a Christian. My husband, a USMC Vietnam War Veteran and a Chaplain, has PTSD caused by combat. We've come a long way on our healing journey and we still have a ways to go. We put the FUN in dysfunctional. :-)
This entry was posted in Fear, Health, Mortality, Sickness, Toxic Black Mold and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.