I’ve Been Very Sick… But I’m Getting Better

Although we no longer live in this wonderful old adobe house by the Rio Grande, and we don't have any decorations this year ~ too much has been going on ~ I wanted to post this picture as my way of saying Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Although we no longer live in this wonderful old adobe house by the Rio Grande, and we don’t have any decorations this year ~ too much has been going on ~ I wanted to post this picture as my way of saying Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

This is the first time I have turned on my computer since I wrote my last post one week ago today.

I can’t remember ever going longer than a couple of days without at least checking my email. That is how horribly sick I have been. Although my laptop was right beside my bed the entire time, I simply did not have the energy to turn it on.

At first, I thought I had a flu. I didn’t want to go to the doctor and spread my germs to others, only to be told that nothing could be done other than drinking lots of fluids and getting plenty of rest. I was already drinking the fluids, and as for resting, I have done nothing else for a solid week. Days went by when a trip to the bathroom was the only time I got out of bed. The world outside these walls ceased to exist; my universe shrunk to the size of two small rooms.

I took my temperature on the digital thermometer every few hours. It bounced from 100 to 102 all week. Last night was the first time my temperature registered in the normal range. This morning, I felt my first hunger pang since last Monday. I am getting better. Yay for getting better!

My husband finally persuaded me to see my doctor three days ago. After checking me over and running some tests, she told me I had, not a flu, but two bacterial infections. She prescribed an antibiotic which she hoped would take care of both. It seems to be doing the job.

How did I manage to come down with two different bacterial infections? Until last Monday, I was very healthy for a woman of my age, and as far as I am aware I haven’t been exposed to anyone with an infection.

Could the horrible black mold I inadvertently inhaled nine days ago have caused this? The answer is yes, it very well could have.

Mold, I have learned, is a fertile breeding ground for bacteria. Molds can also suppress one’s immune system. Furthermore, the kind of mold that grows in arid regions are potentially the most lethal, precisely because it is so good at surviving. And yes, I live in an arid region.

So… contrary to my tongue-in-cheek attitude in my last post, mold is not a laughing matter. However, there was a point in the middle of my misery when all the drama about living and dying struck me as hilariously funny. That was when I came up with a ridiculous idea which seemed quite brilliant to my feverish mind at the time: a do-it-yourself burial plan for people like me who hate to be a bother.

Here’s how it works: first, spread a tarp on the ground. Next, dig a hole, piling all the dirt on top of the tarp. Then lie down in the hole and pull the tarp and all the dirt on top of yourself. Is that brilliant, or what?

I don’t know…. maybe you need to have two bacterial infections and a fever of 102 to appreciate it. πŸ˜‰

I’m going to post this to let people know I am still here. Then I will turn off my laptop and go back to bed. I’m still too weak to check my email or social media. I hope I will be able to answer some emails tomorrow. But I shudder to think how many have stacked up in the past seven days.

God bless. And, please… stay away from mold. Especially the black death variety.

~ ~ ~

ABOUT COMMENTS: I have disabled comments to focus on writing my memoir. In the meantime, you may contact me on Twitter via @LadyQuixote.

~ ~ ~

About Lynda Lee

Lynda Lee is my pen name. I am a former nurse, a Mensa member, and a writer, diagnosed with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder caused by extreme trauma and narcissistic abuse. Formerly agnostic, I am now a Christian. My husband, a USMC Vietnam War Veteran and a Chaplain, has PTSD caused by combat. We've come a long way on our healing journey and we still have a ways to go. We put the FUN in dysfunctional. :-)
This entry was posted in Fear, Health, Mortality, Sickness, Toxic Black Mold and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.